Studies and programmes

Aalto University School of Chemical Technology

Degree Structures

B.Sc. Degree Programme Structure (180 ECTS)


M.Sc. Degree Programme Structure (120 ECTS)

The studies leading to the master’s degree consist of:

  • Studies of methodological principles (9-11credits)
  • Three modules, at least one of which shall be an advanced module in one of the major subjects of the student’s own degree programme and of which only one can be a basic module (18-22 credits per module)
  • Elective studies (so that the degree is minimum of 120 credits)
  • The master’s thesis (30 credits).


Doctoral Degree Programme

A doctoral candidate is a student pursuing further studies after having attained a Master's degree. The postgraduate degrees offered by the Aalto University schools of technology are:

  • Licentiate of Science (Technology)
  • Doctor of Science (Technology). The doctoral degree may be taken directly after the master's degree; it is not compulsory to take the licentiate degree first.

The Licentiate of Technology degree takes an estimated 2 years to complete, while the Doctor of Science (Technology) degree takes approximately 4 years. A postgraduate degree comprises theoretical studies and research work. The emphasis is on scientific research.

The purpose of doctoral studies is for the student to acquire more profound scientific knowledge and skills in scientific research and their practical application than is provided by master's degree studies. The key element in doctoral studies is to acquire the skills required in research and the application of research results. High-level research is a prerequisite for doctoral studies and researcher training.

Theoretical Studies

  • Research field T 30-40 cr
  • Studies in supplementary field S 10-20 cr
  • Scientific practices and principles Y 5-15 cr




Page content by: | Last updated: 07.02.2014.